Lake Champlain Chocolates: Organic Dark Chocolate

Lake Champlain Chocolates

Organic Dark Chocolate

57% Cocoa

Chocolate Liquor, Sugar, Cocoa Butter, Vanilla

.4oz

20160920_122528

You’ll see these little chocolate squares up by the front register in your grocery store most likely, if you’re going to find them anywhere. They come in large grab bins, and come in a variety of flavors. The ones that my local natural foods store were almost all organic flavors. There are actually organic and vegan flavors from this brand, which I appreciate on both accounts. I’ll have to look closer next time to see what kinds my store actually has. The one I picked up was more of an impulse buy than anything.

20160920_122535

The packaging is simple. White wrapper and silver foil(though the foil is embossed with the little Lake Champlain Deer logo). And for such a small and unassuming little square of chocolate I will say that I was more than pleased with what I got. Four ounces of chocolate is perfect to enjoy in four small bites(or two larger ones if you feel like it(Or just eat the whole thing in one go. I’m not going to tell you how to eat your chocolate)).

20160920_122743 1.jpg

The chocolate is delicate smelling, lovely and chocolaty without being overwhelming. The flavor is smooth and light, not overly bitter, but just a hint of a bite to let you know this isn’t a milk chocolate bar that you’re eating.

There aren’t any particular notes that I’m picking up from this chocolate. It’s just very smooth and very creamy with a nice deep chocolate flavor. I would say it’s neutral but that makes it sound bland, and it is anything but. There are of course some other flavors besides chocolate, but they are elusive. Maybe a hint of flora, maybe a hint of fruit. It’s hard to tell. I found it lovely either way.

20160920_122915

They may come in small squares but it’s actually a good amount of chocolate! Here’s my square with a bite taken out of it.

I’m definitely going to try some of the other varieties that Lake Champlain offers. If you’re looking for a perfect little treat or pick-me-up, I would recommend picking up one of these little squares of chocolate.

 

Leave a Reply

