Schogetten Cookies and Cream

Schogetten

Cookies and Cream

30% Cacao

Sugar, Cocoa Butter, Palm Fat, Cream, Milk, Chocolate Liquor, Sweet Whey Powder, Wheat Flour, Butterfat, Soy Lecithin, Natural Vanilla Flavorings, Medium Fat Cocoa, Lactose, Wheat Starch, Natural Flavorings, Salt, Sodium Hydrogen Carbonate, Ammonium Hydrogen, Carbonate

100g/3.5oz

 

20170616_161144

Mmm, cookies and cream….

I usually don’t buy milk chocolate or chocolate with milk in it at all if I can help it. Being lactose intolerant can make these otherwise tasty treats a miserable experience.

I’d never seen this brand before though, and figured I’d give it a shoot, mostly because I am a sucker for the cookie and cream combination. Also, it was only a dollar, and I was grabbing a bunch of different bars at the time.

It’s a European brand, which is most likely why I’ve never seen it here in the states. It’s got a nice little “German Quality” stamp, and is made in Germany.

20170616_161219

The embossed foil made it seem much classier than the Hershey’s and Mar’s bars I’m used to seeing with this kind of chocolate quality.

This is the first Chocolate “Bar” that I’ve gotten that is not in fact a “Bar”!

Instead, they are individual little chocolates, that are packaged in a bar format. I thought, as I was opening my bar before I had actually broken into the foil, that somehow it had been completely broken up. Nope!

20170616_161248

The chocolate was so soft, it already started to melt, just from the pressure and warmth of me opening the foil!

Opening the foil, I was immediately hit with a very sweet scent, not unlike a Hershey’s cookies and cream bar, which makes sense obviously, as this is essential a German version of that bar. It was actually a little too sweet for me initially, and I kind of made a face because it was soooooo sweet smelling!

I forged ahead though, sampling my first square. I picked it up and i practically melted in my hand before I could even get it to my mouth. Very soft chocolate. There was no nice chocolate snap! at all.

20170616_161319

These are more truffle like in their texture than chocolate like honestly. It melted on my tongue, sweet, creamy and very sugary. There were nice little cookie bits and lets be real here, that was the whole reason I got the bar in the first place. I took a bite of one for a picture and was honestly surprised that it did look pretty much like the picture on the front of the package. Thin chocolate shell with a white, cookie specked filling. No false advertising there.

It was an okay bar, but definitely not a great bar. It pretty much falls into the same realm as cheap checkout candy, and no where near the craft artisan chocolate that I usually buy. It also doesn’t have any of the tags that I would usually associate with good chocolate. It has the country of production(Germany), but it’s not artisan, hand-made, bean to bar, fair trade, from a well known producer, or anything that would usually indicate to me a bar that is well made. Even the packaging was kind of meh…

20170616_161359

Because of the slightly rounded shape of the chocolate and the fact that it was melting so quickly upon skin contact, it was really hard to hold for this picture! You can actually see the chocolate on my finger from where the square started to where it sliding.

I saw some other flavors at a different discount grocery store the next day, and almost did a double take, because I had never seen it before this week. There’s some dark chocolate ones, as well as one with hazelnuts, which I might give a shot, just because they’re so darn cheap.

If you’re looking for a nice fancy chocolate bar though, with solid chocolate flavor, I’d look else where. If you’re someone who loves sugar, cookies, and is a milk chocolate fanatic, I’d say go ahead and give this bar a shot.

Leave a Reply

